At the beginning of a new school year, as you are planning the coming year's activities, why not take advantage of the tools in your learning platform? It will make the work easier throughout the year. Here are some tips that will contribute to a good start of the school year.
In control with the Planner
The Planner is a powerful tool to prepare your lessons in itslearning. It allows you to link up assignments, tests, resources and activities to each planned lesson. You can also refer to learning objectives and provide the students with a description of the lesson. If you are not happy with the standard settings these can be edited to suit your own headings. This can of course be adjusted at anytime.
Using the Planner will also give the students a good overview of the course and allow them to plan their work effectively.
Better individual follow-up
The Individual Learning Plan (ILP) is the ultimate tool for following up individual students. As the name indicates, each student gets their personal plan for learning and can write comments and change the status of tasks as they go along.
Note! If you don’t have the Mentor tab in it’s learning, please contact your itslearning administrator. Read more about the Individual Learning Plan in the Help section of the ILP.
Old courses in archive
Some teachers use last year’s courses as a basis for creating new courses for the coming year. If you like to start from scratch, make sure you archive your old courses. That will give you and your students a tidier start for the new year. Courses are archived by choosing “Save in archive” at the top of the list of courses or in Course settings >> Properties within each course.
Get a tidy start
- Help your students find their way in your courses by tidying up for the new school year. Here are some things you may want to do:
- Use the Active option for folders, files, tests, assignments etc. It gives you the opportunity to decide when an element should become visible to students, or simply to hide irrelevant resources.
- Delete all elements you know you will not be using. All deleted items will be transferred to the Trashcan where you can retrieve them if you decide to use them again later.
- If all participants in a course are new, make sure you delete old messages from the bulletin board.
- Check the Course Settings of your courses and turn off the options you are not planning to use. For example, -if you have no intentions of using
- Portfolio Assessment in a course, the students will not be needing the Work Portfolio.
Tue, June 22, 2010
by Yvonne Robberstad